Origin of ITBP, the 'Himveers' and National Security

Indo-Tibetan Border Police was raised on October 24, 1962 for reorganizing the frontier intelligence and security set up along the Indo-Tibetan border. Only four Battalions were sanctioned to begin with. ITBP was initially raised under the CRPF Act. However, in 1992, parliament enacted the ITBPF Act and the rules there under were framed in 1994.

With additional tasks entrusted to ITBP from time to time on border guarding, counter-insurgency and internal security roles, the number of ITBP Battalions increased gradually and ITBP presently has 60 service Battalions, 4 Specialist Battalions, 17 Training Centres and 07 logistics establishments with a total strength of approx. 88,432 personnel.

In the year 2004, in pursuance of GoM recommendations on “One Border One Force”, the entire stretch of the India-China Border comprising 3488 Kms was assigned to the ITBP for Border Guarding duty and, accordingly, ITBP, replaced Assam Rifles in Sikkim and Arunachal Pradesh in 2004.

The motto of the Force is “Shaurya-Dridhata-Karma Nishtha”. The Force has earned number of decorations like Padmashree-7, Kirti Chakra-2 Shaurya Chakra-6, Sena Medal-1, President’s Police Medal for Gallantry-19,President’s Police and Fire Service Medals for Gallantry-2, Police Medal for Gallantry -131, Parakram Padak-79,Sarvottam Jeewan Raksha Padak – 02,Uttam Jeewan Raksha Padak – 16,Jeewan Raksha Padak -11, Prime Minister’s Life Saving Medal-86,Tenzing Norgay Adventure Award -14,Union Home Minister’s Special Ops Medal-276 etc. for its numerous achievements in the past.